On Summer, “#gofflife” and pop-up tents.

Ah, the art of blog writing. It’s a skill, I’ve been told. Apparently you have to have a certain wit about you – but not too much, you might seem cocky or arrogant. Oops, looks like I’ve fallen at the first hurdle! (I joke, I hope. I promise I’m lovely and stuff, I just sometimes overstep the mark). Anyway, hello there, currently it is 10:07pm on July 22nd, and this is my first blog post on worded which way. Round of applause? Woo…

Summer is fun, right? School’s out, no-one has any commitments, parks are very enticing and ice cream becomes your best friend! Don’t forget the abundance of festivals open to us Brits, how could anyone be sad over the six-week-off period?! I’ll tell ya how, try being all pale and dressed purely in black, alllll summer long. It’s hell, but it’s almost enjoyable. *tries to find a meme of three girls on the beach, one in all black, but fails miserably*. Summer is fun, my summer has already been fairly fun, and the plans I have are going to be absolutely fabulous, but it’s just hard, you eat so many ice lollies (and quite frankly, ice cubes) it’s ridiculous!

Pop up tents on the other hand, wow. They’re satan in portable house form. I had to invest in a tent a few weeks ago, as me and my chums have planned two festivals this summer and I’m not braving British weather (or drunk British festival goers!!!) and not taking a tent. Regardless, I bought a cheap £15 pop-up tent from a shop nearby my house. In the bag, it’s wonderful. It’s light, takes up little room, and is easy even for me to carry (I’m weak and barely five foot tall). However, yesterday, a friend came round and we decided to test out how easy it would be to get up and down. IT’S RIDICULOUS. I could have better luck scoring a date with the almighty Morrissey easier than putting the bugger back in it’s bag. We managed, after meticulously following the instruction leaflet for 45 minutes, to get it to the second-to-last step, but it just wouldn’t go the final push. And let me point out, to put it up, we literally just took it out of the bag – it was done.

pop-up-tent

(photo courtesy of website)

Leave a comment